Will’s Lifestyle Fashion Week Hangover (2011)

4 May

(Wearing: Last year’s printed dress fro Bershka, London; Brown shoes stolen borrowed from my sister; Blue bag from Dubai )

 This was the first time I attended the Will’s Lifestyle Fashion Week which happened in Delhi. I attended only three shows (I intend to attend the whole thing next time) but they all were unique and were quite parallel. Due to some confusion, I couldn’t get photos (ok no confusion, my camera died) but I got the runway photos from Y Magazine (for which I was covering the show) and did the outfit post after I came back.


Rehane’s Show

Rehane introduced fruity summer look in her collection with western silhouette and lace embellishments. Her collection had of color and was collection with a lot of incitement. Her collection had a European Couture touch, for which this Chennai- based designer, is known for. The dresses incorporated of this season’s tunic and tube dresses along with A- line skirts and floral prints.

Accessories were a vital part in her collection. She incorporated multi-stripped belts with bags and 3D accessories (thinking Banana Republic, I suppose). But the hairdo was the major part of her collection. There were headbands along with life-size flowers screamed American fifties hairdo in a modern way. She did not use a lot of make-up and kept it light, simple and exciting.

The major problem for me in the show was that her collection did not symbolize autumn or winter of any sort. I felt that the look was rather unfinished or more modifications could have happened. The bags were a major problem (ahem Jessica Szohr in Gossip Girl ahem) they did not coordinate and nor did they look ramp-like. But the show was fun and enthralling so I guess that is it.

Urvashi Kaur’s Show

A ballet dancer started the show while dancing on a sufi tone. The collection incorporated of colorful Angarkha tops where neck-accessory was a major part. The model carried some impeccable scarves which had a mix of both Indian and western touch. The show for me was rather unique.

Kallol Dutta 1955 Show

This was probably the best one I attended. I loved how Kallol Dutta mixed neutral colors and I loved his freshness and how he incorporated geometrical and abstract designs in his collections.

Leave a Reply

