Why people mock fashion

13 Apr

I came across this article called ‘Why I hate fashion’ by Tanya Gold published in The Guardian. The article was published somewhat a year ago and outlined all the things the writer detested about fashion and being stylish in general. The writer brings upon the uselessness of trends and how fashion magazines and people associated with it are narcissistic.

 

I agree that fashion has a shallow side and MOST of the people are interested in what Kim Kardashain wore in a Hollywood party and what Jennifer Lopez wore in the Golden Globes.. But then isn’t it the prevailing fact that fashion is what you make of it. But what about the girl who spends hours in a store looking for the perfect dress that screams Balenciaga or Valentino? That screams originality and individualism?

Hating fashion is like hating art. You cannot hate every single thing about it. Yes, the modernity in fashion and how designers are materialistic and advertise their brand in the quest to want the readers to want it more maybe a little frustrating. But doesn’t Apple urge you to buy the new version of iPod or Harper Collin’s ask you to buy the Best Seller?

“Fashion is architecture: it is a matter of proportions.”- Coco Chanel

The problem is that the films, books and songs that we see and hear always portray people related with fashion as shallow and dense. If someone is interested to go in fashion, other people often think that they frivolous, not independent and do not have enough IQ to adapt any other profession. In the beginning of The September Issue, Anna Wintour said that people are frightened by fashion since it scares them and makes them feel insecure and thus they put it down and as a result mock it. Fashion makes people nervous. I agree with Miss. Wintour. What is wrong in wearing Giuseppe Zanotti flats or a Dolce and Gabanna dress instead of something basic and boring from Walmart?

One of the other problems is that peopledress to impress. Women dress to impress men and that is the main reason fashion gains hatred among people who don’t want to actually impress people by physical appearance. We spend half the morning trying to make our style eclectic but do men actually know the difference between Prussian blue and Turquoise?

“I dress for the image. Not for myself, not for the public, not for fashion, not for men.”-Marlene Dietrich

People look at me quite condescendingly when I tell them I like to write about fashion, particularly my friends who know how passionate I am about literature. They feel that I am somewhat ‘wasting’ my talent and should write on something useful like politics. I feel that fashion is art. The same way people appreciate Renoir’s artwork, we appreciate Balmain’s couture.

I was once talking to this family friend of mine on what my career should be and what subjects should I take upon come forth my junior year. I said that I wanted to go into journalism because I did not actually want to tell him that I am interested in fashion (he was orthodox and thinks that people only excel in engineering and medical. The notion going on for the last fifty years in India) and when I actually confessed that I wanted to study fashion he raised his eyebrows and said nothing. I guess I expected that.

Anyway, I have seen that people always include gossip with fashion. I think gossip is shallow (sorry E!). If we see magazines like Vogue, Harper’s, Dazed and Confused or Love, there is rarely an article about Scarlett Johanson’s new boyfriend or any other bullshit. These magazines also do not ask fourteen year old girls to thin down or wear clothes meant for people double their age. Tania Gold wrote about a girl who reportedly got killed whilst wearing heels. If she wore flats or any other shoes would they report that too, I may ask?

I do realize that my rambling about proving Tanya Gold wrong is pointless. Because the truth is that I did not hate the article wholly. She reflected upon a thing which she strongly disliked. I do not think that to be fashionable one should thin down or adapt harmful means to attain beauty. So before eloquently stating that she hates fashion, Tania Gold should first state that what she hates about it. I know that Tanya Gold will not start loving fashion after reading this nor will people stop raising their eyes when I tell them I want to work in the industry. They will just have to accept it.

9 Responses to “Why people mock fashion”

  1. Jess April 14, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    Oh wow! Great opinion on the fashion industry! I’m totally with you! I think this is very important for the next question: what about guest posting? Maybe we could switch blogs and you’d write for me?

    Check my side: http://lovelifelabels.blogspot.com/

    Love,

    J.

    • anupriya April 14, 2011 at 11:00 am #

      I would love to guest post for your blog! and lovely blog :)
      Can you email me at anupriyadutta@gmail.com and we can connect further?
      Regards,
      A*

  2. Lara Caselli April 14, 2011 at 11:40 pm #

    I totally get you and your point of view… My father and my family’s father are just like your family friend, in a way that they made it clear that if I didn’t studied engineer or medicine I wouldn’t be anybody. Now I am engineering graduated and still looking forward to a carrer in fashion. It’s so true, if you genuinely love something, nobody has the power to change it.

    • anupriya April 15, 2011 at 5:33 am #

      I hope you do have a career in fashion! I feel that it is never too late to start a fresh :) Thank you for commenting!

  3. shooting star April 15, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    well, fashion is art!!
    and i agree with marlene dietrich!!….every fashion conscious person dresses for the image they have in thir mind of themselves!!….
    and i personally link fashion to hygiene, a lazy and unhygienic person can never take the effort to dress properly..!!….you get what i mean???? :P

    • anupriya April 15, 2011 at 1:07 pm #

      I do get what you mean :)
      Thank you for commenting!

  4. Rohan April 16, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    That’s really well written. A full analysis indeed. But I just have one question.

    What is the difference between Turquoise and Prussian Blue?

  5. designedbyann April 19, 2011 at 6:48 am #

    Maybe fashion is superficial, but it’s been around for ages :P And why should it be bad to want to dress nicely??
    You are right that women dress to impress, but I think they aim more at impressing other women rather than men! men don’t pay attention to details (they pay attention to the whole image though)!

    • anupriya April 19, 2011 at 10:12 am #

      The thing is that fashion is always associated by competition. People ONLY dress to compete or to impress. But for me fashion never dies :)
      Thank you for the comment!

Leave a Reply

