John Galliano was let go

27 Feb

Well it has come as a shock. John Galliano-the epitome of Dior was fired suspended. I am not much of a daily fashion news savvy but this hit me right through the chest. He was reportedly suspended because of alleged anti- Semitic remarks he made in a Paris restaurant.

I obviously did a google search after I read the bad news on the front page of  Delhi Times (a daily entertainment newspaper  in New Delhi) and got over 155,000 hits. I was quite mortified and would like to quote what The Satorialist stated in his blog- “Basically, Dior just threw their star designer under the bus based on the word of strangers with no “reported” third party eyewitness account of the actual events. That ,to me, is the real issue at this stage of the game.” (read his full post here). I strongly agree to this because if Dior was a football game, John Galliano was the star quarterback.

Sabyasachi Mukherjee a renowned Indian fashion designer commented that- ‘When you’re designing for a big fashion house your products turn into orders of millions, creativity can become very cruel.’ Well I conceive that this hasty decision was rather oppressive because isn’t it an alleged remark? I mean just days before the Paris Fashion Week, you  dismiss your fashion director. Are you delusional? Alexandra McQueen actually died before the Fashion week so I think John Galliano can atleast snap because well he is under a lot of pressure (and it was an alleged remark for Christ’s sake).

I believe that the decision taken was rather hurried and at least a full inquiry should be taken. So much for a comment.

Ps- I didn’t do a Roses Et Epines post for a long time so I revised Taylor Swift hall of fame which you can view here!

Leave a Reply

