That’s how you start it

25 Feb

Hello there!

I understand that I haven’t been able to write much but when you need to mug history, political science with an overdose of physics, you are quite dazed and exhausted to blog. Anyway I wanted to show you the excerpts of two of the articles I wrote for High School Pieces since I am not allowed to publish the whole thing on my blog. I was not entirely content with what I wrote since I wrote it in a list form but I will seriously imprive (I am child give me a break). But here is it anyway-

Trends to borrow this spring

The runway reminded us quite a few months back that spring is approaching, bringing quite a handful of new trends. People do complain that the runway is a little extreme and the designs cannot be worn so here is a review of some trends which can be borrowed….(read more)

Vintage Fashion Terms (previously entitled Vintage Thinking)

I consider the 20th century as the best century of fashion. It was an era when the whole world saw new changes in terms of globalization and, of course, style. Each decade had new trends; there was an onset of feminism; the century also saw the rise of the worlds most renowned and famous designers like: Coco Chanel; Yves Saint Laurent; Alexandra McQueen; Vivienne Westwood; Karl Lagerfeld etc. Since many people today are eager to determine which decade they would have liked to live in, I thought of lining up some of the terms, slangs and words used then to refer style in general….(read more)

I had a lot of fun in writing the latter part since, hello! vintage!

Anyway I just realized that I am not a very normal teenager. I mean I should like Gossip Girl and The Vampire Diaries, but I don’t. I mean I am not criticizing it but I find Gossip Girl a little shallow and something- which -will -never- happen- to- you drama. Yes, Nate Archibald is an eye candy and so is Blair and Serena’s wardrobe (I am willing to go to prison for them) but hello where is the ‘learning’ part. I do not expect any show to be like that but still I would rather watch something with which I can associate with. It is all scheming and bitchy for me. The Vampire Diaries is a little blah. I cannot bear another vampire movie/TV show/book again.

Anyhow, I actually started typing keeping in mind that I will write about discoveries I made regarding influential people. The REAL fashion journalists. The whole world knows and respects people like Anna Wintour and Emanuelle Alt, but ever since I read about Suzy Menkes and Robin Givhan, I was bedazzled. Am I the only person who doesn’t know about them? other than that, who all checked the new Gucci RTW fall 2011 collections? Very colorful and optimistic, it created a notable equation of the 1970s sexy with the new trends.

I have a friend who is a fabulous artist and does some very iconic illustrations (I am implying to the graffiti she did on my birthday card). So I thought I will make her do an illustration or two for my blog which she will do this April (I have got so much to do after exams!)

I will blog but won’t be regular :(

My inspiratioon

My inspiration

Happy Blogging!

Anupriya Dutta*

Leave a Reply

